Recap

Wow, where has the time gone. It just struck me today that I haven’t updated my blog in what seems like an eternity. Quite a bit has happened since the last update from T-town, so I’ll try to catch you up with the basics:

I decided last minute to come home from T-town a bit earlier than planned, but of course for a good reason. I got home with 10 days to go before my sister, Elisa, and (my now brother-in-law) Luciano got married. Needless to say, there was a LOT of work to be done getting ready for their big day. I spent the ten days running errands and helping around the house and probably not spending enough time on the bike. In the end though it was all worth it. The wedding was beautiful, and everyone had a ton of fun. Oh, and I would have caught the garter had I not been body checked to the ground, ending up with a fat lip haha.

It was then only a short amount of time before Nationals. I knew I had to get in form, and get there QUICK. Before I knew it, the entire family was driving up to Quebec. We spent one night in Montreal on the way visiting family, before completing the journey to Bromont. We stayed in an amazing chalet type house, which by the way, is definitely the way to do it. Full kitchen, family room, and bedrooms for everyone. Just a litttttle bit more comfortable than cramming into a tiny hotel room, and eating fast food for a week. The racing was not my best, but I came away with a medal of every colour. A gold in the team sprint, a silver in the keirin, and a bronze in the sprints. I was very excited to see that some of my family from Montreal even made it out to watch the keirins on Sunday.

Fast forward one week, and it was already time to head back to school. But not for long. Only one week of classes before I made the move to LA for the winter. The team has a beautiful house in Seal Beach, only blocks from the ocean. This is definitely the place to be to train. The track is only a 20 minute drive away, and then when it’s time for recovery rides, we head over to the path that goes along the beach for an easy cruise. The trainer we have been working with in the gym is only blocks away too.

We have had 4 weeks of hard training, doing intense sessions on the track, and some very heavy lifting in the gym. I’m writing now in the middle of our first trials, to decide who is going to be sent to the first World Cup in Australia. Up tomorrow is team sprint trials. I’ll let you know how that goes in my next post.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

