Back to Blogging

Well I have been home now for what seems like a record amount of time. I believe it’s even been more than a month now! I can’t believe where the time has gone. Oh wait I know: account for two summer courses, one part time job, and then of course training… I’d say I’ve been keeping myself pretty busy for the past month.

As far as travelling and racing goes, this is down time for me, but I am still training just as hard as ever. In less than 3 weeks, I will be heading back to LA, trying to earn myself a spot on Canada’s Commonwealth team. It’s not going to be easy, but this is one event I really want to go to. It would be an amazing experience as my first multi-sport games. I’ll keep you posted on how things go.

As some of you know, I competed at the Pan-American Championships a month ago, in Aguascalientes, Mexico. First off, I have to mention what an amazing track this was, built by Canada’s own Peter Junek. It was fast, smooth, and still sticky enough to allow some good technical sprints.

Just to recap the racing briefly:
Racing started out with the team sprint event. The Canadian team didn’t have very much luck, with myself getting held up in the gate (why don’t they have beeps in Mexico ????), and then 1.5 laps into the race, Stephane’s rear disc flatted. He did really well to keep himself on his bike. Not even 10minutes later, the commisaires were calling us back to the line for our re-ride. We did all that we could to delay the process, but needless to say, we didn’t have the best of rides as we were still out of breath from the previous race. This qualified us for the disappointing bronze medal ride. Despite our bad luck, we went into the bronze final ready to show everyone how fast we were capable of riding. This time, I got out of the gate cleanly, and pulled off a new PB, and fastest starting time of the evening, at 17.6s for the 250m lap. Unfortunately our time as a team was not good enough to earn us the bronze so we settled for 4th.

Up next was the keirin. I’d say for the first time in my keirin racing career, I rode somewhat smart winning my first round, qualifying me for the semis. However, in this next round, I was up against some bigger riders, and got into a bad position early on. I was unable to recover, and so only qualified for the 7-12 final. Again, I managed to ride smart to an 8th place finish, an improvement on last year’s championships.

The last event was the sprint, where I had a surprisingly fast 200m time of 10.1, qualifying me 3rd. There’s not much else to say about the sprints other than I had some really good technical rides, and some really bad rides. I ended up finishing the sprint competition 6th. Again this was an improvement on last year’s result, but I was hoping to do a bit better with my fast qualification time. Congrats goes to teammate Travis Smith who not only qualified 1st in the sprints, but had some great rides and won the Gold medal!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • "We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit."