Beijing World Cup Prep

I can’t believe I’ve been in LA for 4 days and now is the first chance I’ve gotten to sit down and keep you guys informed of whats going on. I flew into LAX on Saturday night, after a bit of drama with my overweight bags. I was picked up by Stephane, and got settled in on a sweet blow-up mattress courtesy of Travis. The following day, the only training session we could get into was a madison session, so we figured, what the heck, lets go have some fun. Well, that was my plan at least, just to spin the legs and loosen them up from the travel the day before. Apparently Stephane had a different idea. It seemed like every 2 minutes he would be attacking to gain a lap, and of course as his partner I had no choice but to follow. It ended up being a decent workout and was a good way to change up training.

The following two days were pretty tough, with a lonnnng standing start workout followed by weights in the afternoon on Monday, and another rolling start workout on Tuesday. Today we took a nice relaxing recovery day, in which we drove up to Long Beach to meet some of the other Canadian riders, and went for a nice slow road ride on the beach. Yes, it was literally ON the beach. The paved trail had sand on both sides as it weaved along the coastline. I could really get used to that. Anyone know someone in Long Beach who has a place to rent for February.

After the ride, me and Stephane found a cool little Italian Deli on the main street in Seal Beach where we had a couple of huge prosciutto and mozzarella sandwiches on delicious ciabatta bread. Oh and the pecorino cheese is to die for. ALMOST as good as in Sicilia.

I’m back at the hotel now trying to get some school work done, but first of  I figured I’d better update the blog. The rest of the Canadian Team is arriving tonight, and tomorrow is the first day of the ‘official’ camp. Luckily that also means I got to move into my own room where I get a real bed. Yes, as comfortable as that air mattress was, I think I’m going to sleep like a baby tonight.

On the agenda for tomorrow: some good quality speed work!

Keep tuned for more updates as we get ready for the China World Cup this week!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • "We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit."