National Team Camp – Victoria, BC

Well, it seems like everyone in the universe has these blogs, so I figured I’d give it a try myself.

I just spent my last week in beautiful Victoria, BC, with the National Track Cycling team for a training camp. This was not a regular training camp at all. In fact, the only rides we did outside were the 1.5-2 hour coffee shop rides. (As a side note, if you’re ever in Victoria, check out Paradiso delle Stelle Coffee Shop. It’s got the best espresso and chocolate croissants around).

Instead of riding, we attended sessions with various experts, in all kinds of different fields from nutrition to media training to psychiatry to psychology to sleeping. All in all, everyone left with a better picture of what it takes to be a champion, and hopefully these lessons are going to help the Canadian team gain the little 1-2% edge over our competition.

Now don’t get me wrong, we didn’t fly out to Victoria just to attend a few lessons. We also got to do some lab tests at the Pacific Institute for Sport Excellence (PISE). The facility was beautiful, with world class gyms, fields, and of course an SRM Bike that we did all of our testing on. Thank goodness I’m a sprinter, because the MAP tests that the enduros were doing did not look like fun. I did a MAP once…and hopefully never have to do it again. Instead, the sprinters (myself included) got to do a couple 6s max sprints to see what kind of wattages we could hit, and a 50rpm effort, to see what our strength is like. I have some videos of the tests so I’ll see if I can upload one or two. Everyone performed well and had a good time.

I’m back in cold Ontario now, and hitting the books, with midterms, assignments and labs gallore. I can’t wait ’til I get back on the plane this Sunday to head to Sunny LA for some track riding!!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

